Recent doings

I recently got back from a trip out west to visit friends.  It was exhausting, would have been for a healthy person, but my body was really messed up by the time I got back.  They were fantastic about helping me out, just like they were the last time I was there, and it’s all worth it!

I finally got to see the Lacis store and museum http://www.lacis.com/ . I could have spent a lot more time there, but I tried to have mercy on my non-fibery friends paying for the parking!  I picked up some things, and it’s inspired me to try to get back to my bobbin lace, and improve my knitted lace.

There were knitting projects for the friends.  The first was a horned beardhat that gave me all sorts of fits, but the recipient liked it, so that what counts!

horned beardhat

Beardhat!

The other thing I knitted, finishing at the trip, is a Dr. Who scarf, also done with mostly Wooleze yarn.

Dr Who scarf

Who!

This is also a picture before any stretching (which I’m not sure will work well with this yarn) and trimming of the fringe.  It was also requested that I make a miniature matching scarf for his cat.

scarf for cat

Dr. Who cat style!

The cat was largely unperturbed by the scarf, though I don’t think he was as pleased as his owner.  I eyeballed the relative colors, rather than adapted the pattern.

Taking knitting and a little scissors on the plane was not a big deal (the fudge though got a second look).  I knitted socks, but they didn’t turn out as well as I liked so I unraveled them and am reknitting the pair, doing something a bit different.  I finished the first yesterday, will start on the mate today.

About fibermyalgia

Fibromyalgia sufferer and fiber artist.

Posted on September 19, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

