Ready to be Warm All Winter!

Warning – the writing in this post may be sub-par.  Having a lot of difficulties with cognitive function today it seems, but I’ve put this off long enough.

Winter is on it’s way, though we’ve been giving a small reprieve for the last few days.  In between the things that have been commissioned I took a few days to do something for myself for cold weather.

Warm All Winter hooded cowl

This is Cat Bordhi’s Warm All Winter hooded cowl, made with Angel’s Kiss bulky yarn, 60% alpaca, 40% merino wool.  Angel’s Kiss is a Wisconsin company that uses 100% US Alpaca, spins the yarn in the US,  and only sells through stores. While I’m not at all against spending money on things non-local, even non-US, I like options that will support smaller scale producers in the area!  This yarn has a wonderful feel to it, and the hooded cowl was easy to work up.   When Yarnology in Winona, MN posted that it was going on sale I immediately thought that it might be perfect for this!  At the shop, once handled, it was going into my stash regardless.

The bottom part around the face can be pulled down and the hood pushed back.  While I managed to figure out the timer on my camera again, I was not particularly photogenic, so how it can be worn is best shown by going to see the pattern on Cat’s site!

I also used a cable needle-less cabling technique that I’ve seen a few places, but this last time sat down and worked with it using the tutorial from Grumperina.  Even though I’m still practicing, it’s certainly not any slower than moving stitches to a separate needle and moving them around.

The opening for the face is actually made by cutting and unravelling one partial row of yarn after the rest is done.  As you knit the rows where that happens, lifelines are put in, then when ready the needle(s) go back and *gasp* a small snip is made.  It was my first time doing this (I also have not done “regular” steeking) and so was a little traumatic, but worked out just like it was supposed to!  The ball of yarn is then reattached as normal and knitting proceeds!  The video tutorial (link included in the pattern) was a great help, and with a little more practice I will be able to cut my knitting – intentionally – with confidence.

About fibermyalgia

Fibromyalgia sufferer and fiber artist.

Posted on October 24, 2011, in knitting. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I learned the non-cable needle cabling technique from Grumperina’s tutorial too! I almost never use a cable needle now.

    That looks like a good item to have for a Minnesota winter. 🙂

    • It’s warm! Happily haven’t really needed it yet. I’d tried a method of cabling where you just drop the stitches and leave them, but with a yarn that didn’t have a lot of give, so the stitches didn’t want to pull and run for the hills like they did when I tried it with wool, so the slipping method works better for me right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

