Manx Loaghtan and Shetland

I’ve joined a Spinner’s Study group on Ravelry, which has two fibers each month that members can work with and report back on.  This month one of the breeds is the Manx Loaghtan, a rare breed used for both meat and fleece, which is a moorit (brown) color.  They’re a nifty looking breed, check out the Manx Loaghtan Sheep Breeders Group!

I got a few ounces of prepared fleece from Hilltop Cloud in the UK.  It got here surprisingly fast, was unperfumed (always important to me), and was lovely in color and squishiness!

My first thought was that I would spin it up for socks, but decided that I would divide it up and spin it a few different ways to see how it behaved.  In other words, do something akin to an actual study.  I sat down one morning and divided it up and started spinning.  I’ve done up one sample, a bit thicker than I’ve been doing lately.  The result:

Manx Loaghtan yarn

Manx Loaghtan yarn spun from top on wheel, with Quarter for reference.

It did not turn out very even, but I’m quite pleased with it regardless.  It’s both dense and squishy, and would make a beautiful sweater or vest.  The quarter is placed for reference.  It was a top preparation, and I spun it “combination draw” which was a bit of short, a bit of long, some fiddling.   I ended up with roughly 32 and a half yards of this two ply, weight roughly 3/4 of an ounce.  The above yarn is “finished”, has been washed and set. I’ve also been spindle spinning some Shetland that I picked up at the Shepherd’s Harvest Festival and I took pictures of it at the same time. Shetland yarn

I’ve been happy with the way this is turning out, and may make a shawl out of it.  I have two finished skeins so far, and am working on a third, which may finish up the 6 ounces that I bought. 

As a point of interest, both the Shetland and the Manx Loaghtan were wound on the same niddy noddy, but the below picture shows how much more “spring” the Manx has!

Shetland and Manx yarns

Manx Loaghtan has more “spring” than the shetland!

The Manx Loaghtan is on the right and the Shetland is on the left. 

The next I plan to do with the Manx is a sock weight.  Hopefully I’ll get to that in the next week!

About fibermyalgia

Fibromyalgia sufferer and fiber artist.

Posted on June 9, 2012, in spinning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

